Newbie asking for suggestion for photo editing sw

Photon1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a newbie looking to get into photography. one of my first questions is what software Do you suggest to use to edit photos, and be able to easily make digital photo albums. My daughter is giving me a hand me down Apple Mac book pro laptop and that's what I figure to use as I've heard that's where Apple shines. My wife likes using actual photo albums, but we're physically running out of space to store all these albums and would like to turn to digital storage. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thx

Hhmmm...where to start...

Well, on the issue of software, personally I feel it depends on a great deal on how you work and your specific goals. In general, "editing" software and "photo album" software are going to be 2 different things, but in either case a lot of it comes down to personal preference. For example, a person who does professional production photography is likely to be good with something like Adobe Lightroom where they can make basic adjustments to a large number of images. Lightroom is also great for cataloging your work as well (although I use Adobe Bridge for much the same thing). On the other hand, a person (such as myself) who may frequently do more extensive image manipulations, Photoshop would have some VERY great advantages.