Newbie Family Shoot Help

fractionofasecond

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been asked by a co-worker to shoot himself with his wife and 2 year old son for Christmas cards. He knows I am not a professional and it will be a very casual shoot. Him and his son will be in suits. My question is- I have never done anything besides snapshot photography but I would really like to give him some quality shots. I offered to do it for free because I am new and if he is completely overwhelmed with excitement from the pictures, we would let that decide if money is involved. I have shot casual portraits of friends before and I think I have what it takes. My problem is, he would want to do it inside of his house because of the cold weather, which I kept trying to mention "outside would be better". I only have the built in pop up flash for my camera, and was hoping I could rig up a diffuser or something to bounce the light of the ceiling. I know this isn't ideal but it is last minute and he knows I have never done anything more than casual shooting. Does anyone have any ideas to bounce a pop up flash? I have searched the web and found some ways to rig one up but do they really work? Also I am 6'2" and I am assuming the ceilings are 8 feet, will my little POS pop up have enough power to bounce the flash? Any input is appreciated. Thanks. :)

*EDIT* I was also planning to shoot with a 50mm 1.7.

There is no one I know of who could lend me something. It will be indoors during the day. Hopefully I can open some windows and it will be bright enough, just looking for a flash to fill in the shadows. My camera is usually OK at ISO 800. Any higher I am sure I will get some noise. Thanks for the link, I was actually just reading those. Some people say it works, and some people say it doesn't. I guess when I get home, I will just have to try one out and see what I come up with.