Newbie film question.

GigiX

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi everyone. :)

So I've been snapping away for around six years now using my digital, but have only recently began shooting film too. I recently had a film developed at my local super market (groan of regret) and have been disappointed with the results, which are veryy grainy and contain a lot of noise. The film I used was Fuji colour 200, which I've seen from other photographer's work is capable of producing much clearer, better quality photos. I tend to shoot most of my photos spontaneously, and so my question as a newbie to film is which type of film should I use with my 35mm to get clear, sharp results with less grain? Since I usually don't use a tripod, I thought using film with a higher iso might be the answer, but as far as I'm aware due to the speed, that's even grainier!

Attatched is a test-run-is-the-camera-gonna-work shot, which in itself is very noisy, but is by far one of the least noisy shots of this set.

Any help is much appreciated, thanks!

Attachments

• $Image (5).jpg
    $Image (5).jpg
    101.7 KB · Views: 89
I think you will see a big improvement if you get a film scanner.

That said, slower film (low ISO) usually equals less grain - but you said you'll be shooting without a tripod, so you'll need good light for slow film.

Fuji 200 or 400 can both give pretty sharp photos without much grain...

Your attachment looks like it was underexposed and tweaked in PP. (The lab would have done that to try to 'save' it.) Look at the blacks - they shouldn't look like that, they should be black. This looks like PP noise to me - it's a result of the lab trying to boost the blacks/mid tones to give you an 'acceptable' exposure.