Newbie here w/questions

mrsbos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all! I've recently decided to venture into photography. I've taken pictures for years now, just not professionally. First question is how did you get started? Did you go to school? I've researched on some schools but just didn't know if this is what I should do. I have 3 kids, a full time job and school just may not fit in the schedule. Right now I have an easyshare Z612 Zoom Digital Camera...it's been great so far, but I keep reading about SLR's and am thinking of getting one soon. I've recently been asked to do a wedding for my best friend's brother. Any suggestions on a camera? Any advice on how to get started in this career??

Thanks all!!!!
Renee

Stay away from weddings until you are able to use the camera. A digi cam will not provide great quality for wedding images. A dSLR needs to be used with care and a person should know the camera inside out. Also you need fast glass to be able to competently shoot a wedding and a digicam nor a kit lens will be anywhere near enough.

By all means shoot as a scond photographer but get a pro who knows what he's doing. You'll then still have a brother who likes you!

Hi Mrsbos,

I'm new to photography myself just been doing it for about 6 months or so, I believe classes would really help out. I'm in school now for an AA degree and I plan to take some photography classes, actually I'm enrolled in a Photo Appreciation class for this fall. You can learn a lot on your own but I know a class will be a boost in learning about photography.

Now I would agree to stay away from a wedding not only do you have to know your camera but, just the amount of equipment you would need to really pull it off.