Newbie here with printing questions and a few others

bowen.deanna

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi I am a newbie and lost in all there is to learn about photography and how to get that special shot. I have read and watch videos online and do alittle practicing. I done a few shots yesterday and took them to Walmarts to get them printed to see how they looked in print. On my computer everything looks decent but when I printed them off URG!! I was sooo disappointed. I am trying to learn aperature, shutter speed and ISO at the moment so I thought by seeing them in print I could tell more where I went wrong. Well the quality of the pictures were crap which I knew they wouldnt be the best because I was told if you wanted good clear prints to order online..so that is one of my questions...who do you recommend for best quality and price wise? I am not a professional. I am learning photography for my benefit. I love having pictures of my daughter and niece but it runs into sooo much $$ getting others to take them so that is one of the main reasons I decided to try it myself.

Also a friend gave me a copy of her PS7 to play around with before investing into a editing program myself. Well I dont know anything about it but hope to learn. I played around with some features on it and when I printed them off the colors were way off and a bit grainy. I did do some cropping on them so I dont know if that was one of the reason or what. How do I know when I cropped a picture if it is a good size for printing?

I hope that I am making sense on everything as I am a newbie and want to learn so much. Thanks for allowing me to be part of this forum.