Newbie here

jaystekan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Greetings all. I am brand new to Medium Format film. I have been shooting on a Fuji X-t1, and a Fuji X100s. Anyway, found a Yashica Mat 124G that caught my attention at an old thrift store. Took it home for a few dollars, cleaned it up and shot 3 rolls of film with it.

Now my question.... I am a film novice, not shot an actual roll of film in years.

Should I invest in a Paterson tank and do the processing myself, or send it away to be done? If I send the film to be done, whom do I use thats economical and makes nice prints? If I like a print, to whom and how do i send it for enlargement?

If I go for the home processing route, how do i get the picture online? How do I order prints from home processed film?

Sorry for all the questions, I recently returned from a weekend getaway with my cameras, and didn;t touch the digitals all weekend, the yashica was that much fun. I grabbed an RB67 from the same thrift store for $27.00, but I didn't get a chance to clean it up before going away for the weekend. I must say, I really enjoyed shooting film.

If you're just curious about how all the stuff works, then you should process the film yourself. It can be fun and rewarding, although you'll have additional costs getting started.

Then there is B&W vs. color. B&W may be somewhat more forgiving of a newbie, as color is more sensitive to light and temperature of processing.

Or if you just want to make photographs, then send the film out for processing.

Some labs offer scanning as part of the processing, so you get your negatives and the electronic files. And prints if you order prints.

You can also scan your own negatives if you invest in a scanner. That way, if you want to process your own film and scan the negs, then the film stays in your possession.

Check your local area for a lab that is capable of developing 120 film. Don't be surprised if there isn't any.