newbie here

spacemule

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I don't know much about photography, but have always been interested in great pictures. I'm a law school student, so have little time and money to invest in the hobby. However, I do want to get started.

In reading the threads, I see a lot of recommendations for the D-40. While I would love to get a digital slr, I'm wondering if that would be the most prudent purchase for someone who knows nothing? If I'm going to spend $600 plus for a camera, I'm thinking I should learn the basics first on something cheap and then buy exactly what I need.

With that in mind, Fujifilms cameras have caught my eye, this one in particular. I don't see needing other lenses for learning the basics, but that's tough to know with virtually no experience.

But, 18 power optical zoom lens with image stabilization and the features they're advertising sounds really enticing--all for less than the cost of the digital slr camera body alone. Would you go with a non changeable lens for an introduction to photography? I like all the neat high end gadgets as much as the next guy, but I really want to focus on principles and what setting controls what. Is that feasible with such a camera?

Thanks guys, and it looks like you've got a great forum here. :thumbup:

The way I looked at it when shopping for a camera is that there are many P&S cameras out there, there are many that are really great. However in the end, if I purchased a nice P&S I knew I would not be happy with it. By spending a little more for a low end DSLR, at least that could grow with me. You kinda have to look at yourself, are you going to be happy with that camera?