Newbie in Aussie

AussieDee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,

I was referred to this forum by a Mac forum member. I hope I find this forum useful.

I'm fairly new to photography and am interested in purchasing something more advanced besides a $99 digital camera.

My main focus on photography is nature, animals and objects. I'm currently trying to find something easy to use but I want a quick shutter speed. Nothing bugs me more than taking a shot only to have to wait 3 or 4 secs for my digital to focus in on the subject. UGH!

Looking forward to sharing my work and for some critiques.

My novice stuff is on deviantart at http://dees-dezines.deviantart.com/gallery
So... do I guts potential? :blushing: And what should I work on? Don't forget, it's a $99 GE digital camera! ;)

You definitely have a good eye and all those with a $99 camera! I particularly like "Guard", "Dock", "Stand Alone", a lot of the "Josephine" ones are really good too - and many more, too many to list. You are fortunate to be in such a beautiful country, you must come across so many great photo ops.

But just a note, shutter speed and autofocus are totally different. When you press the button and have to wait for it to take the picture, that's a shutter lag (often caused by a slow autofocus) and nothing to do with shutter speed. Shutter speed is the length of time between when the shutter opens and when it closes and that is essentially the same for all cameras. That wait time between when you press the button and when the shutter actually opens is the shutter lag and is a common problem with low end point and shoots or older point and shoots. Recent mid to higher end point and shoots aren't so bad anymore (at least my brother's newer version of my point and shoot seems faster to me).

Here's an article on the topic: http://www.cameras.co.uk/blog/2007/06/shutter-lag-and-digital-cameras.html

Welcome aboard. Some nice shots you've got.