Newbie looking for help!!

Taryn06

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello!
I'm looking to shoot some muscle cars doing burn outs and was wondering what the best settings would be? I want to capture them as best I can and I'm not very experienced! I have a Nikon d72oo with the kit lens and also a 35mm lens that I use the most.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
My end goal is to use the photo for a gender announcement :)

Get near the cars, but stay safe! Shoot in Programmed Auto mode, and use the thumb wheel to go from wide-open lens at fast shutter speeds, like 1/1250 at f/2, down to maybe f/2.8 at 1/650 and down to f/4 or so at 1/320 or thereabouts. Slow-ish speeds in the 1/250 to 1/125 second at f/5.6 general zone will show the wheels spinning, and the smoke, but the car itself ought to be more or less still, during the burnout.

Once the car gets moving forward, then you might want to pan with it (track the camera with it).

Use the rear LCD to check the shots for quality, the right settings,etc..

There's no fixed rule that says how much motion you need to stop, or to allow...sometimes a shot at 1/1250 or 1/1500 looks TOO still, too static...and 1/60 second looks quite blurry, yet "cool"...

What settings depend on what,exactly you want to show! It's a D7200, so use whatever ISO you want to, up to 1,600 in daylight.

Last edited:
As Derrel comments, you have to find what works best for you. I shoot a lot of drag races and will change settings constantly depending on the car's direction of movement in relation to me, and what I want to show. If the car is passing in front of me I'll shoot at about 1/125 second and pan with it. If it's coming straight at me I shoot a lot faster. Burnouts from the side are normally around 1/125 second to get motion blur in the tires and a smooth texture in the smoke.