Newbie Question about Blurry Photos

dkangelis

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am an amateur photographer who is aspiring to get great results with my digital camera. I own a Digital Rebel XT (I love this camera) with standard zoom lens. The problem is--it is very difficult to get perfectly clear shots without using a tripod and a static subject. At first I thought my hand was too shaky--but I didn't remember having had this much trouble with my 35mm camera. Even when I dialed my ISO to 800+--I had issues. My other concern with blurry or soft photos was "not enough light". However, I have the same problems in outdoor/daylight pictures. I understand the basic ideas of F-Stops and Shutter Speeds (even though I think this is where my problem lies). I feel like I can't just shoot a picture like I did with my 35mm. I love digital--it just seems to be not as flexible. Does anyone have any suggestions or advice?

If you are getting good results using a tripod with a still subject, then it's definately something with your subject or with your handholding technique. Are you sure you are using good handholding shutter speeds? Something like 1/125th or faster. Maybe you just need some time to get used to holding the new camera?

The rule of thumb for handheld shots is to not use a lower shutter speed than the reciprocal of your lens focal length - ie. if you are using a 50mm lens you should try not to handhold using speeds less than 1/60 or 1/30 sec. as these are closest to the reciprocal of the lens (50)....another example would be 300mm lens; use speeds of not lower than 1/250 or you risk camera shake causing blurry photos.
If you're using a zoom you have to be especially careful to watch your speeds as you zoom in and out changing your focal length.

Also, your camera has 7 auto focus points. If you have multi-point focus enabled, the camera may be focusing on something other than what you think it is focusing on.