Newbie question: Higher aperture setting = more "blue" in photos (?)

chrisv2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Total newbie question here. I did search but could not find any pointers on this (which worries me a little).

I've been playing with the settings on my Sony Nex (c3) and one thing I wanted to try was "infinite focus" by setting the aperture at a high number. It seems that whenever I go to a higher F number than what the auto-setting on the camera selects for the scene I am shooting, the picture picks up a noticeable increase in "blue". Histogram confirms this.

Is there something wrong with my camera or is there something about changing the aperture that affects the color values of the picture? And...if the latter...how do you correct it?

thanks...

When your aperture gets smaller and smaller, you will likely run into problems caused by diffraction. Normally, you will see a loss of sharpness, but color abnormalities are not unexpected.

I'd suggest finding a DOF calculator (web sites or smart phone apps). That would allow you to calculate your DOF based on your focal length, aperture, sensor size and distance to point of focus. You may find that you can get to 'infinite focus' at a larger aperture (lower F number) than you might have thought....which would allow you to avoid the issues caused by diffraction.

When your aperture gets smaller and smaller, you will likely run into problems caused by diffraction. Normally, you will see a loss of sharpness, but color abnormalities are not unexpected.

I think this may explain why I've encountered a lack of sharpness/focus in many of the recent photos I took. My goal was to increase the depth of field so I shot a lot of my photos with as small an aperture as possible while maintaining a "correct exposure".