Newbie question: problems scanning slides

Shinnentai

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi! I'm new. This is my first posting.

I'm relatively new to photography. I like to use slide film mostly, and I've been having trouble getting/making usable scans of my slides. I had the shop where I get my develping done scan a set, and they really didn't come out right (small color anomalies- red going a little to purple and such, mostly BIG exposure anomalies- more on that further down). I eventually ended up buying a slide scanner (PrimeFilm 3650u). I can fiddle with the settings more when I'm scanning at home, but I'm still getting just varying degrees of the same exposure anomalies.

It's like the scanner itself has a really tight exposure threshold that's being stacked on top of the slide image. Areas that are a little darker than the "center" of the exposure (but not by a lot, still with lots of depth and detail) are rendered as significantly underexposed in the scans. An in frame contrast of one stop gets amplified to three stops, for example.

Although I don't know for sure, I don't think this should be expected. The guys at the shop told me that this was just the limitations of the technology at work, but at the same time, I know that a lot of professionals like to use slide film, and I don't believe for a moment that any professional would tolerate the degree of inaccuracy I'm experiencing with this.

Is there anything I can do to improve the accuracy of my scans?

Thanks!

Never heard of that scanner you said you bought. Is it strictly a film scanner? Because to get the dynamic range you need to get a perfect slide scan you need to have one of the best like one of the nikon film scanners. If its a flat bed with a film adapter forget it.

I use a cheap scanner mainly just to get a sample scan of a slide. You might try scanning them straight and saving them as a tiff then adjusting the levels in photoshop.