Newbie to lighting / Suggetions for DIY Ring Light

christinartnd

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hello! so im a newbie to the website (and a newbie to the idea of lighting) and I wanted to get some advice! :mrgreen:

i post a lot of videos on youtube and usually my lighting is a bit spaced out. generally lit from the ceiling with spotlights, there are shadows here thereand everywhere and its a bit unflattering.

Im looking to upgrade my equipment and look into some lighting - and I want to start with some very basic stuff. I've done my research and im really interested in a ring light. I like the general overall look and would also use it for other photos, i.e. makeup photos I take on my iphone (yes, simple I know!) or DSLR. etc. (I'm using a Nikon D5100.)

as my budget is ABOUT £50-60 i've realised that the price of ring lights start at about £30-50 , and then they shoot up to around £190+ and there really is no inbetween.

Has anyone, or would anyone be able to give me a bit of help on how to combine the two ideas on how to make a small setup for a ring light... In theory what I'm thinking of doing is buying a ring light for my DSLR (ive looked at a lot of reviews and found a few of the best ones!) and then what kind of bracket or additional stands would I need in order to get it standing on its own on either somethig similar to a microphone stand with a clasp or a tripod? surely there has to be SOME way to do this?

I basically want the ability to move it around. I want to test it both on the camera and off the camera whilst i'm shooting video, however I don't want to have it in my hand, manually moving it... I don't step too far away from the camera when i'm recording. Guitar shots are usually close ups and vocal takes can't be more than about a meter away which seems appropriate for the ring lights i've looked at. (something like http://www.amazon.co.uk/dodocool-Am...eywords=nikon+d5100+ring+light#cm_cr_dpwidget )