Newbie to the business......

garfield

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone. In the past 8 months I have started a small, home-based photography business. I have always loved taking pictures and decided to try turning my hobby into a small business.

I am just starting out and have created a website. I know my prices are way low but I feel that I can't justify higher prices until I have a larger portfolio of work.

Any advice or suggestions would be much appreciated. I am always looking to better myself.

I currently use a Canon EOS 7D and for my studio shots use paper backgrounds with soft boxes set up in my living room :) It seems to be working well so far and if things take off I will look into a more permanent studio space.

Thanks in advance for your input!

My website is DexheimerStudios.com

I like your website. It's simple, clean, and loads quickly. I'm not sure about the colour choices; there seem to be a lot more dark colours than I would choose. Perhaps having your navigation table in a lighter colour to make them stand out more?

As far as your prices go, well, they're a LOT lower than I would charge, but if it works for you, that's good. Just make sure that you don't price yourself out of work. That is, if everyone else is charging $300 for what you charge $100, the only work you're likley to get are those people who want to spend the absolute least amount of money and who are going to haggle you to death. It also makes it a LOT more difficult to bring your prices in line with others in your area when you decide that you want/need to.

Now that's big time spam ^^^^ I second the website being too dark, I think people will shy away from it because of that.