Newbie to the site and my Nikon D3300 using Manual.

MerseysideGiant84

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Ok, so this is my first day for a few things. My first posting on this site along with my first images taken using a DSLR (Nikon D3300) in Manual Mode. I have limited experience in photography, using manual settings on my compact camera which taught me the absolute basics (Hopefully). Finally decided to take it to the next level and purchase a DSLR, practise what I have learned (so far) and now gain some feedback from my peers. Please review my first images taken and leave any feedback from which I can learn and improve. Thank you in advance for any tips, advice and feedback provided.

Attachments

• 311215-PkDis-002_02.JPG
    3.3 MB · Views: 297
  • 311215-PkDis-003_01.JPG
    3.3 MB · Views: 287
  • 311215-PkDis-004_01.JPG
    3.5 MB · Views: 283
Welcome! I'm sure you learned at least something using your compact in manual mode before switching to a dslr. That's how I started and I think it definitely helped the learning curve when I moved to a full-manual film slr. Those photos aren't bad at all. Yeah the horizon line is off and your compositions could use a little work, but that'll come with practice.

In the first pic (002_02), you made things a bit tricky by shooting towards the sun. With a single exposure from that angle, it's going to be impossible to have the tree, sky and ground all exposed well at the same time. When one is exposed right, the other two will be over and underexposed. So you'll have to choose one to focus on. In this case, the ground is the closest to being perfect while the sky is blown out and the tree is black, but it seems the tree was your intended subject. A photo of just the silhouetted tree against the sky would be an interesting composition.