Newbie -- Tried searching, but still have lighting questions..

Thanks -- I will take a look at that set. I actually picked up the Science of Light book not too long ago -- I just have not had a chance to read it yet.

I am new to this forum -- I presume that was just back-and-forth banter? :meh:

I apologize that this carried over into your thread. I started it and I shouldn't have.

The book really is eye opening, and after reading it, you should be able to make your shots work with just about any sort of lighting, although, IMO strobes will be more workable. For what you want to do, an AB400 will probably be enough. If you buy one of the more powerful ones, you might run into issues with it being too powerful. Heck, even a speedlight might be appropriate, i.e. for Nikon an SB600.

I just started reading the book yesterday -- it seems technical, but at the same time it is very easy to understand. I took a look at the AB set -- I have never worked with strobes before (hence why I am newbie)..regarding your comment about AB400 being enough and anything higher may be too much...from what I see you can control the output of the strobe. I did see the AB starter kit with AB800 (I think)...THis may be too powerful for product / flower shots? Well i am just in the discovery stage of figuring out what I want need -- most likely will buy something after the holidays!

Again -- thanks to all that replied.

For strobes, bigger isn't always better. For isntance, the alien bees do exhibit a slight color shift at lower power levels. It is also a bit harder to fine tune the power at the lower power levels. The more expensive Einstein lights don't exhibit the same problem. In any case, for product photography, chances are, in most cases, your light will be within a few feet of the product. You don't need much power at all to shoot at f/11, base ISO, with a strobe that close.