Newbie with Lens

Sillysoft

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have a Sony Cybershot DSC-H2. I was going to take it back and get a better camera but I was unable to return it. So Im stuck with this camera for the time being. My question is, is there a lens that I can purchase for this camera to help take better pictures at night time sporting events?

Im still very new to the whole lens things so please excuse me if I have no clue what Im talking about.

Thanks
Silly

You camera has a maximum aperture of F2.8-3.7...so that's pretty good. You will probably need to crank up the ISO to help get faster shutter speeds though. You will get more noise as you turn up the ISO...but that's the trade off for a faster shutter speed.

The lens of your camera is built-in...so you can only add filters or adapter lenses...which will only block light as degrade the image.

Maybe a tripod or a mono pod would help...but that won't really help for fast moving subjects.

Well I would put the ISO all the way to 1000 and it gets a TON of noise, especially with the flash, extremely grainy. I even tried it at 800, but anything less its to dark. Im learning that you have to get real close for the shot when using flash and then Im having to use Photoshop to adjust the contrast and curves because with the flash it looks all yellowish. For example:

tempe_rams_practice_102106_01.gif

The flash cant reach all the way in the back, with photoshop I can fix that somewhat but as you can see the image looks very crappy. Night time pictures is tough with this camera. :( Or maybe its me, dont know really.

Silly

Part of the problem is your camera...the sensor is so small that shooting at high ISO is practically unacceptable.