Newbie with photos

bluettu

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone! This is my first time on this forum. I started my own photography business about 4 months ago, and I LOVE every minute of it. I bought a Nikon D80 and love it also. Here are a few of the pictures I have taken so far. The 2nd one is my daughter. Feel free to critique and make suggestions.

DSC_0076.jpg

hb_falleaves4copy.jpg

DRAKE001.jpg

I've recently been playing with the same effect of B&W Masking, I think its an interesting effect but often draws attention away from what you are trying to "say" with your photo.

I have some examples on my flickr, these were mainly for practice with the tools rather than to make nice pictures. The problem with this effect is that it is soo easy to over do it. Often the point of shooting in B&W is to stop the distraction of colour and try to focus the view on the subject of the photo, the story or the message that you are trying to convey...

Photo 1 is OK but do you really need to highlight the nappy? Also, image one has a high contrast (+blur?) effect that obfuscates the subject a little, in short, its confusing to the eye.

Photo 2 just doesn't sit well with me, sorry. Was she actually wearing that jacket at the time? Either way the colour of the jacket and the eyes look to have some extra saturation, which is fine if you are using saturation to highlight something in a colour pic but in conjunction with a B&W mask, in this particular instance at least it doesn't work for me. It seems a little unnatural and unbalances the picture.

Photo 3, In my opinion this is the "nicest" image. The colour is soft and the use of the mask is therefor unobtrusive. Was the aim of this picture to sell T-shirts or to portrait the smiling fellow....I'm not sure, should I have to ask?