nifty fifty?

Greg Oden

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
i just bought the D90 (body only) today. i will be getting my nikon 18-200mm vr tomorrow. does that lens do what the 50mm does. i've just been reading about everyone liking the nifty fifty. i was curious to know if i should be checking into it. i am a noob. just needed to build some credit up so i put a d90 on the card.

To put it as simply as possible, as it seems you are quite new to photography.

No, your 18-200 will not behave like the 50mm.

The 18-200 is a variable focal length lense (means you can zoom in and out) with a more restrictive aperture window than the 50mm (lets less light in).

The 50mm is a fixed focal length (doesn't zoom), however it has a wider aperture, meaning that it allows more light into it (enabling you to use a faster shutter speed).

In addition to this, because of the 50mm lack of internal fixtures, it will more than likely create crisper and sharper images than the 18-200.

Lastly, because of the wider aperture on the 50mm, you can create a shallower depth of field at higher shutter speeds. As with your 18-200 you would need to be zoomed in quite a bit to get the same depth of field.

Anyways, the 50mm is extremely cheap, and for those that can fit that lens, it is a "must have" for any new, amateur or even professional photographer.

the nifty fifty will be MUCH sharper and faster. i just got one for my d40 earlier this week and its my favorite lens.

mitch and tbam, thanks for the advice. i am very new to the sport. i have been reserching cameras for a few months and im becoming to have an understanding of what the mechanics are all about. im tryin. and your helpin. thanks again.

I recently bought a "Nifty Fifty" for my Canon. The f1.4 really kicks with letting the light in and the lens produces some fantastically sharp images on its "sweet spot".

I don't even imagine my camera bag being without a "Fifty" now, ever.