Night Photography Help

BMW2002

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is my first post to the board.
I have been taking photos for about 10 years now on and off.
Mostly with a digital point and shoot.
I have taken some racing photography over the years with my 35mm SLR
Now I am trying to expand my abilities and love taking night shots
This photo was taken with my new Rebel XTI.

My question is what should setting should I use to eliminate the blur around the building names? Example - on the left side of the picture the blue sight under the bridge is supposed to read The Miami Herald.

Any help would be greatly apreciated

Miami_395_Bridge.jpg

A link to some data
http://s225.photobucket.com/albums/dd23/E30M3CRAIG/?action=view&current=Miami_395_Bridge.jpg

I'm by no means an expert, but I think you would need to do an HDR to properly expose both the buildings in the background and the neon sign properly.

Hopefully someone more experienced in night shooting can chime in :)

exposure in this pic is too short duration to render the light properly, either expose for longer, (I reckon triple the original exposure time) or as the other poster says try a HDR. H

I just barely understand HDR images at this point.
All I know is that my camera can take them
Remember this is on the beginers thread
Is there a good like to understanding the basics of HDR , how to take them and the correct software needed to asemble them?

Otherwise thanks for the tips so far.

HDR in theory is very simple. You take one photo like the one above and another that is underexposed so as to expose the lights or signs correctly. Then you just photoshop the two together substituting the correclty exposed pieces together to get a "corrected" or HDR image.
That is a beautiful scene, why not try to go back and have another go reducing the exposure until you get the signs to show up a little better and try your hand at photoshopping them?