nikkor 50mm 1.8 issue? help please

laffles

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.theability.co.uk
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
just got this lens in the post, using a D7000, I'm an uber noob, the aperture ring will only lock down @ 22 for some reason (in manual), nothing else, it gives an error when i try to shoot with it not locked down in manual.

half of my test shots are just ultra dark even with iso @ 2500+, unless I shoot in auto, wtf is going on here :( is the lens faulty?

The aperture is controlled by the body, not the lens. In order for the bodys CPU to properly register and control the aperture, Lock the aperture to f/22, then if you want to shoot at f/8 or f/5.6 of f/1.8.... control it with the BODY, not the lens. If you are shooting in "A" mode, the aperture control will default to the front command wheel, by your right index finger. Turn it clockwise and the aperture gets smaller, counter clockwise to get bigger.

Other modes, the aperture control function can be set as a custom function to either wheel or other button.

Hope that helps!

Thanks for the post, But I'm shooting in manual - the aperture ring on the lens is one of the reasons I bought the lens - So i can learn to get better in manual.

give me a second I'll post some pics with exif data do give you an idea of my problem

Last edited:
You can still control the aperture and shutter speed manually. But after you lock the aperture to f/22 on the lens, you can control them with the camera dial buttons.

Thanks for the post, But I'm shooting in manual - the aperture ring on the lens is one of the reasons I bought the lens - So i can learn to get better in manual.

give me a second I'll post some pics with exif data do give you an idea of my problem

In manual on the D7000, the aperture is still controlled by the front command wheel, and the shutter speed by the rear. The body needs the lens to be locked into the f/22 position in order to properly read data from it.