Nikon 105mm macro advice

GoonjoshGoon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys after visiting a local photo gallery at a downtown art event I have taken an interest in macro photography, especially the abstract aspect of it. There was an older gentleman who used stained glass and jewelry and ordinary household things like cds to make some of the most captivating and beautiful macro images i have ever seen. The colors were just amazing. He also said, that he was 100% self taught and he never took a class. I didnt want to ask him what equipment he used because i dont feel like thats what made the photos.

However, do any of you guys use the 105mm macro? I have heard mixed things about it. I was thinking about picking up one from BH in 2 weeks when i get paid again. I dont really want to get the 3rd party alternative since those dont seem to hold their value as much.

Does anyone have any advice on this lens? Is it good for abstract macro?

However, do any of you guys use the 105mm macro? / Is it good for abstract macro?

I've got the Canon version of the lens its great and for abstract or more targeted macro.

Does anyone have any advice on this lens?

There are several versions of this lens are we talking about the AF-S or the AF-D version?

Don't discount the 3rd party options - I've never quite understood why people get all hung up about the resale value. Unless you're dealing in camera gear or you only keep hobbies for a short period of time before selling them on resale isn't really a concern at all - and 3rd party macro lenses are every put as sharp as the nikon or canon ones.

and 3rd party macro lenses are every put as sharp as the nikon or canon ones.

Overread is the macro king around these parts. Best you listen!

Alright Overread, would you suggest the Sigma macro? Honestly I have no experience with 3rd party lenses Im just going along with what I read (i know that sounds terrible.)