Nikon 17-55 f2.8 DX used for $800, good price?

rjackh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I found this lens for sale from a local photographer. It has one slight cosmetic scuff mark on the side, but other than that, in perfect working condition. Glass is supposedly perfect and everything works. It was bought in late 2011. Is this a good price for this lens? I know it retails new for about $1400, but I don't know how a lens like this depreciates because I am new to photography. Thanks for the help.

Last edited:
That lens has held its value pretty well over the years and has been known to be sharp and a solid performer. If you can do it, I'd go for it.

Jake

What body do you have? If it's a crop then yes, it's a good deal, if FX get the 17-35mm 2.8

What body do you have? If it's a crop then yes, it's a good deal, if FX get the 17-35mm 2.8

Uhmmm... What???

If he's on FX, he obviously wouldn't want the lens. That's good to mention.

However, the 17-55 on dx has an equivalent fov focal range of 25.5-82.5mm. If he wants that focal range, why would he go with the 17-35 on fx???

Maybe be there's confusion all around.

I am not sure about how good value this is now. The tamron and sigma equivalents seem to get as good reviews in everything but build. I can't vouch as to which is better in images but I have the Tamron 17-50mm f2.8 that can be bought for about 1/3rd of the price. The sigma 17-50mm f2.8 with OS is supposedly even better. The Nikon holds its value and is built like a tank so if you need that it is worth the money. If you don't need that there may be better value elsewhere.

Personally I would rather get a 24-70mm 2.8 by Sigma then this lens but if you need very wide lens then its a good lens to have.
On ebay it looks like there are better deals on this lens.
Here I found one and right now it looks like much cheaper deal and there are 16hr to go.