Nikon 70-200mm f/4 G (new guy here)

bike4fun12

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
new to the photo forum, so, Hello!

I am very close to picking up the 70-200mm f/4 lens. I have looked everywhere on the web and gone to many stores for opinions on the 70-200mm f/4 and the 70-200mm f/2.8 VRII. It seems to me that the f/4 is just as sharp or sharper than the 2.8 VRII. any thoughts from people who have used both or either?

I like saving $1000 also. I am not a pro photographer. I do some photography for my work. when I work indoors, I use my 35mm and 50mm (both G lenses). plus, I have a SB-600. so no problem indoors. I love sports/wildlife photography. I am currently using the 70-300mm VR lens for that. and I have been impressed with it. but, I want something more pro lens, something that I can shoot at the biggest aperture and still get sharp images. with the 70-300mm VR, I have to stop it down to f/8 to get sharp images. that slows my shutter down and I have to bump the ISO, which I don't mind at all, but would love to keep it as low as possible. I have a D7100 now btw. I do sports/wildlife about 60% of the time. so, a big chunk. I just thought a little background to my photo history may help you guys aid me in a decision.....2.8 or 4? I don't mind third party lenses. but, from what I have read, the 70-200mm range is best from nikon. not sigma or tamron. even though the sigma 70-200mm 2.8 is $1250, I will probably skip that one.

thanks again

The 70-200 f/4 is a sharp lens..
DxOMark - Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR

Its main selling points are: Size/Weight & Price.. If size and weight are not an issue i would pick up a used Nikon 70-200 f/2.8 VR1 for the same price.