Nikon D3100 is it worth it in 2017?

Activate

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, I'm very new to photography, and I have been taking pictures with my Sony E2303 phone camera for the past few months, and got very interested.

I have done a lot of research so far about many different models of full frame DSLR' cameras, and thought about what would be the best option in the short-long term. Since my budget is quite tight (roughly 250 Euros) I do not have many options, but I have spotted a few Nikon D3100 DSLR' for sale.

I was simply wondering is it still worth buying this model since it is quite outdated from 2010. the first offer is:
1) D3100 Body (~40 000 Shots) + Nikkor 18-55mm lens + cheap carrying bag + 32GB SD card - 190 Euro.

2) D3100 Body (~37 000 Shots) + Nikkor 18-55mm lens + Sigma 70-210mm lens + cheap carrying bag - 190-200 Euro.

TL;DR:

New to photography, buying my first DSLR thinking about the Nikon D3100. Both are used cost around 180-200 euros.

- Any input is welcome!

The second D3100 kit with the 18-55 and the Sigma 70-210 sounds better--as long as the Sigma lens is actually "digitial-camera-capable". There were some Sigma 70-210 lenses that do NOT work on digitial cameras of the 2000's era! I actually own one, a 70-210 Sigma f/3.5~5.6 that I bought with a aon Rebel 2000 film camera; the lens will NOT WORK reliably on Canon 20D nor on Canon 5D...

Anyway. D3100. It's not the greatest d-slr, yet it's got a much,much bigger sensor than a phone camera, and can take a lot of F-mount lenses. The D3100 has sensor performance about like most mid-level and entry Canon APS-C cameras of two years ago.

Nikon D3400 vs Nikon D3100 | DxOMark

if it's all you can afford, I'd buy one.