Nikon D3100 Lenses for Food

Caldrumr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys. I have a food blog, and I have been working with a point-and-shoot since I started it. However, I just recently upgraded to a digital SLR, for better photographs, both for my blog and for other activities. I picked up a Nikon D3100, as it seemed like a nice well-rounded entry-level DSLR at an acceptable price point.
The camera is great, and it takes stunningly sharp images. However, for taking great photos of food, I think the 18-55mm zoom lens that came with it may not be optimal. I want something that has a great depth of field to blur out the background quite a bit, and something that can take great close-up shots. I don't have a lot of extra money, but I want to invest in a lens that will get me some really great pictures.
Admittedly, I am very new to digital photography, and I don't know that much about it. I know I want a wide apeture for blurring of the backround, and I have read a lot of different things about lenses, but it's hard to make a good choice.
I was looking at the Nikkor AF 50mm f/1.8D, since it is well-priced.
Would it be better to save up for something more expensive like a Nikkor AF-S 85mm f/1.4G? Or am I barking up the wrong tree altogether? I want something that will be able to give me sharp close-up food shots with substantial depth of field. I can always switch back to the zoom lens for other types of shots.
I would really appreciate any feedback I could get, since I'm fairly ignorant in the ways of lenses and photography. I don't mind spending more if it is going to net me better quality pictures in the long run. The application of the photos would mostly be blogging and other screen-oriented images, and perhaps photos for a cookbook in the near future.
Thanks in advance! I will look forward to some very welcome feedback.

Last edited: