Nikon D40x upgrade

Sharksfan62

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone my name is steven and i am new to this website. I currently have a nikon d40x and looking for a upgrade. I usually shoot almost everything landscape, portrait, sports. I have been looking at the d5100 but am not too sure if to jump on it or the d90? I really want something that will work well with lowlight and fast moving objects. Video is not much of a concern for me. Thanks in advance:mrgreen:

I jumped from the D40x to the D300, never regretted that decision. I am still learning so there is lots of room to grow on this platform. I too tend to take a lot of action pix (my son and wife both play soccer competitively) and low light pix. It performs well. Just my .02.

I have both the D90 and D300 and have enjoyed both. The D300 is a work horse, but I believe that the D90 handles low light better.

If I had to choose today, it would be between the D7000 and the D300 for that lower price point. If you need a lower price point then the D90 would be the best choice IMO.

The D5100 does better in low light than the D90 or the D300 does.

The D7000 and the D5100 have essentially the same image sensor, and the same high ISO performance. DxOMark - Compare cameras side by side

The differences between the D5100 and D7000 has more to do with features, than with image sensor performance.

Last edited:
The d5100 is a pretty great camera. If at all possible I'd go for the D7000, but if it just isn't in the budget? The d5100 is no slouch. In terms of handling it's a HUGE improvement from your d40x.