Nikon D50 (SLR)

rockstar

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all! I'm new to photography and I've been doing some research on some digital SLR cameras. I've fallen in love with the Nikon D50, because, from the sound of the reviewers, it's the best bang-for-the-buck digital SLR out there. As, I've mentioned, I am new to photography so something as expensive as the Nikon D50 probably will be more than I need, in terms of photo-taking but I'd eventually want to take photography more seriously. Just letting you all know so you don't flame a beginner for buying such a crazy camera.

Anyway, my questions are (1) how good is this camera and (2) can some of you post some pictures up, taken with a Nikon D50? For the latter, I know the quality is all dependant upon the photographer and equipment being used, but just as a generality, I'd like to see what it CAN do.

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum.

I don't have a D50 (I'm more of a Canon guy) but the D50 is certainly a great camera. It will definitely allow you to grow as your knowledge of photography increases.

The Canon Rebel XT is quite similar to the D50 and would also be a good fit. I don't mean to start a Canon vs Nikon debate...they are both very good cameras. I suggest going into a store and holding them, playing with them. Get the one that feels best to you.

The D50 and Rebel XT are entry level DSLR cameras. You might be able to upgrade to a higher level body with not much more money. The Nikon D70s and Canon 20D are both a step higher than the D50 or Rebel...but have both been recently discontinued...which means you might find a good deal on one.
Nikon's D80 and Canon's 30D are the new models.

Also, it is rumored to be an upgrade to the Rebel XT coming in September...which would probably be better than either the Rebel XT or the D50...for around the same price.