Nikon D5100 vs D90

I have the D90 and LOVE it. I wouldn't change it for anything. I'm still learning new things on it after having it for almost 2 years. It's a good buy, I think you'll love it too OP!
It only took me about 6 months to max out a D90, and so some things had to change.

First, of the 11 auto focus points the D90 has (MultiCAM 1000 auto focus module), only 1 of them (the center one) is a cross-type focus point. Second, I got tired of having to lower the camera from my eye to dive into the menus to change a setting.

To solve the first issue I got a D300 because it (and all of Nikon's prosumer and pro cameras) has the MultiCAM 3500DX auto focus module - 51 auto focus points, 15 of them being cross-type focus points. To solve the second, most settings can be changed by using a button/switch on the outside of the camera (and all of Nikon's prosumer and pro cameras have the same button/switch layout) so you can change settings by feel and looking in the viewfinder as the settings change . Plus you get a 10-pin connector, a PC port, a higher FPS rate, 3 times as many AEB brackets, blah, blah, blah, by moving up the the D300/D300s and above.

D90 hands down!!!!

Shooting a wedding with a ****ty setup doesnt depends on your skillz you noob. It depend on what light you have available. I would shoot a Destination wedding in mexico with a d40 and a 18-55 anyday. try doing it in a church with no light. you can have all the skillz you want. no light no pictures.

oh you are absolutely right and I forgot that if you have an underwater wedding, a kit lense will not do either. noobs be warned. :lmao:

I do think so, D90 is the best option, it doesn’t cost much at the range of middle level DSLRs.

D90 is my vote! Own it, love it! Next is a D3S within the month, which I will still keep my D90 cause it still just turns me on!