Nikon D5100 with 50mm f/1.8D lens

britneyt83

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
First of all, I'm new to the DSLR world... I ordered my first "big girl" camera yesterday; the Nikon D5100 with the 18-55mm lens. I have heard/read great things about the 50mm 1.8 lens so I ordered it as well, but I ordered the 1.8D. From my understanding, this lens will not auto-focus with the 5100 though, right? If so, how big of a deal will that be to overcome considering the learning curve that I will have to adjust to anyway. Is it worth the extra 100+ to get the 1.8G for the autofocus, or are there other pros/cons between the two?

If you're not shooting moving things like running kids, the lack of autofocus isn't an issue. It's nice to have autofocus but it's not like it's a deal breaker.

agreed, it will add a tad to the learning curve if your shooting anything moving, but learning manual focus real well isn't something i think a lot of people take the time to do, i could be wrong though. either way i think you will be pleased with your setup! i still love the using old manual focus lenses on an old all manual 35mm

Great! Thank you for your replies ;)

Would upgrade the D version for the G which will auto focus on the D5100.

Manual focus on moving subject is hit and miss and with the smaller and darker.
Pentamirror viewfinder makes for more difficult in keeping the keeper rate up.

As to mastering autofocus depends on person and subjects shooting. And also would consider the 35mm f1.8G also AF on that camera. And is tad wider for indoor and tight situations and found more useful for street shooting then the 50mm f1.8D. Which I found too tight for many situations when I used it.

Or better yet, upgrade from the D5100 to the D90 and get: in the camera focus motor so any Nikon AF/D lens will AF, top LCD, flash Commander mode, a second Command wheel, and more.