Nikon D60 vs Nikon D40x

Jaskaran

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Please suggest me which camera should i opt for..
so here is my question......
which one is the best in comparison to Nikon D60 and Nikon D40x?
my pocket may vary few dollars up & down.

Well i am a newbie in photography world... with only little knowledge, which is very dangerous..lol..
but I need a strong suggestion that can help in deciding that which is best amongst them..
I need picture quality more preferred than that of price suffering & moreover i want to spent my valued money for the next coming 10 years..
Lens compatibility is also to be kept in mind.

please help

Just an FYI. There is absolutely no reason to post the same thread in multiple areas on the forum. Choose the section you think is best and post it once.

If the lens selection is important, then you should look at the D80 or D90, or Canon Rebel's. The D40 and D60 lack an AF motor in the body. This means you are limited in the lenses you can buy for your camera that will have autofocus capability. This also restricts the 3rd party lenses you can buy which will autofocus too.

Agreed. If I had to do it over again and I knew I was going to get as deep into photography as I am now, I would have gotten a D80 instead of a D40.

If the the D40 and related's small factor is a must for you, then just get the D40 instead of the D40x or D60.

Agreed. If I had to do it over again and I knew I was going to get as deep into photography as I am now, I would have gotten a D80 instead of a D40.

same.

The lack of ISO 100, no mirror lock-up, and no bracketing are my top 3 reasons I wish I'd have spent a bit more. (The lack of an AF motor doesn't bother me much since I don't have any existing lenses and don't plan on buy many of them, but it seems to make a lot of people cranky.) Everything else seemed out of my price range, but had i just gone for it I think I'd be a bit happier. Lesson learned! :)