Nikon D7100 or D610 for Indoor Sports Photography with no flash?

Trojan1994

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, this is my first post, to provide background, I am a novice photographer with a D5000 Camera that has historically been used as a point and shoot camera in the Auto Mode or occasionally other modes. Now that my daughter is playing Club Volleyball, it has forced me to upgrade lenses and experiment with settings to try and capture the action as blur free as possible in a wide range of less than desirable lighting conditions without the use of my speedlight. Typically the events are in large convention centers or high school/college gyms where lighting is typically fluorescent, ranging from dimly lit to moderately lit with sometimes large glass windows providing natural light in the background of the players.

Lens wise I have been using:

Tamron 17-50 F2.8
Tamron SP AF 70-200 F2.8 Di VC USD
Nikon 50mm F1.8D
Nikon 85mm F1.8D
Nikon 50mm 1.4G

Depending on the location, lens and settings used I honestly get maybe 20 pics out of 1,000 that are truly "keepers" in terms of being bright, focused, sharp(only blur being the ball/Not being able to read the lettering sometimes). The non keepers are out of focus, a mixed variety of light, then dark, then light type of pattern when using the continuous shooting/burst mode or just grainy. Also, fair skinned players sometimes take on a ghostly almost glowing skin appearance.

Best "action" photos, i.e. where kids are truly moving/elevating/hitting/digging is done with the 50mm and 85mm lenses, manually focused to an "area" where I wait for a subject to enter it, ISO 200, White Balance set to Flourescent, F2.2, Shutter Speed 1/320, Picture Quality is JPEG Fine. With these settings, my raw keeper photos are better than those that one of the other dad's, who's been shooting pics a while, using a Canon T3i, 50mm 1.4 lens, RAW Setting and processing them through Lightroom.