Nikon D750 Under Exposure

Yuemingzhang

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi All,

I am new to this form. I noticed some very insightful replies in the form so decided to give it a try. I have used D700 for years, and bought Nikon D750 a month ago and found it's consistently underexposure by multiple stops. I always shoot in RAW, so I can adjust the exposure in post processing but I still would like some feedback see if the camera is defective.

Please see the two Raw image from the link below, and thank you in advance. I would really appreciate if you can look at the parameters see if I did anything wrong - before I return the camera (if I still can)

Dropbox - Public

I have to use dropbox as it seems the form doesn't accept large files.

Ming

You're shooting shutter priority in what looks to be a high dynamic scene. It depends on which metering mode, your camera was probably trying to compensate for the brightness.

Dropbox would not let me see your photos without signing in. The D750 will depending on the metering mode expose for the highlights and has enough dynamic range to bring the shadows up in post. Play with the different metering modes see what you like best shoot a few jpeg and see how the camera processes them will also help give you an idea of what is happening.

Yes there is a limit to how big a image file can be loaded on the forums.
Image file size and image size are 2 separate things.
You can reduce just the file size by saving a copy of a photo at less than full quality.
The size of the photo will not be changed.

It is common for mass produced DSLRs to have exposure variance between each camera of the same make/model.
That is in part why DSLR cameras have an Exposure Compensation feature.

Nikon DSLRs come set (default) to change exposure in 1/3 stop steps (shutter, aperture, & ISO).