Nikon D80, its great!!

RedDevilUK

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
i bought a Nikon D80 18-70mm Camera only yesterday.. and even though im a beginner to the the hobby, ive taken some great pictures already :)

ive mastered Manual focus quickly and im now working on the BULB slow capture, did a little last night and got a fair result... so i know im making progress (rolling a ball across the front room :D )

so its a lovely day today... sun shining :) i am going down by the rivers and canals to see if i can capture anything

because ive only ever had instant cameras before, i was worried i might have bitten of more than i could chew.... buying a complicated camera with switches knobs and gadgets on it. but it appears i made a good choice... a little reading and plenty of playing (taking pictures of dogs and kids in and around the house.... rather annoyingly) is proof to anyone that its a more simple camera than you would think.

anyone thinking of buying one, go for it ;)

I was thinking about getting the D80 but I hear its better to get good glass then a good body so I'm leaning more to the D50 now. I'll have to play around with both first.

More I use my D80 the better I become with it. I was pretty overwhelmed at first, but now I'm doing much better. Great choice of a camera. :)

i too am still working through all the different functions... and type of pictures i can take.

i suppose the main thing is the fact its getting me out of the house, and im enjoying it :)
i must admit i felt a little stupid in public places snapping away, but i am getting used to that now... some people even come over, and it starts conversations.

so in short, it gives me exercise, gets me to see places i wouldnt go to normally, learning things about my local history too. and at the end of the day i take home memories and pictures too :)