Nikon d810 an overkill?

Heyitsduy42

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm in the market for a new camera body. Been shooting with D7000 for about 3-4 years now and owned the D80 before that. The D7000 is an awesome camera but I want more. LOL (don't we all?). Even though I have a SB600, I rarely use it. With a grip and a 2.8 lens attached , I feel the flash makes the camera even more bulky. My D7000 is also showing pretty bad back focusing even after fine tuning is to a -20. Its almost usable with the 35mm 1.8, unless I shoot at least f4+. The ISO performance is not that great either. The most important thing for me is fast accurate focusing in low light and be able to shoot up to 6400 ISO.

I narrowed it down to the D7100 or D300s replacement (if it ever comes out), D610 (refurbished), or the new D810. I already owned a few pretty good DX lenses but don't mind selling those and upgrading to FX lenses. Even though I've been shooting for 7 years now, I still consider myself an amateur. I will mainly use the camera to shoot my Basketball league games, Car shows, family portraits, Landscape, insects and pets. I do shoot at weddings and family events for fun.

I'm really leaning towards the d810 just because I like to buy new technologies but do you think it's too much camera for me? From what I'm reading, the d810 focus system is fast, accurate and top notch. It also an excellent low light performer. I dont really need the 36MP except for maybe when I'm shooting landscapes. I always shoot jpegs but will eventually explore RAW. My computer is only a years old so I don't think I need to upgrade.

If I switch over the full frame, I will end up buying keeping the Tokina 11-16MM and shoot at 16mm for my wide shots. I will also pick up a fast 35mm, 50mm and 85mm.

Money isn't an issue right now, as my wife just inherited a nice chunk of cash and she thinks I deserve something nice. LOL

Please give me your feed back. Thanks!!