Nikon Lens for D3100 ~Newborn & Family~

mammamarshall

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
HELLO!
I AM EXPLORING MY PHOTOGRAPHY HOBBY. I AM LOVING TAKING PHOTOS OF NEWBORNS AND FAMILIES! WE ARE ACTUALLY THINKING OF MAKING A LITTLE STUDIO IN OUR BASEMENT. I HAVE SOME QUESTIONS THOUGH.

I JUST HAVE THE LENS THAT CAME WITH MY CAMERA. I AM LOOKING FOR SOMETHING TO START WITH THAT WILL ALLOW ME TO TAKE AMAZING PICTURES AND FOCUS ON MY SUBJECT AND BLUR THE BACKGROUND. I WOULD ALSO LIKE SOMETHING THAT IS GREAT FOR INDOOR AND OUTDOOR USE.

LIGHTING... DO I NEED TO GET ANOTHER SOURCE OF FLASH FOR MY CAMERA? I AM TOTALLY NEW TO ALL OF THIS SO IF THERE IS A SITE I SHOULD CHECK OUT OR VIDEOS TO HELP ME, PLEASE SHARE!

HELLO!
I AM EXPLORING MY PHOTOGRAPHY HOBBY. I AM LOVING TAKING PHOTOS OF NEWBORNS AND FAMILIES! WE ARE ACTUALLY THINKING OF MAKING A LITTLE STUDIO IN OUR BASEMENT. I HAVE SOME QUESTIONS THOUGH.
I JUST HAVE THE LENS THAT CAME WITH MY CAMERA. I AM LOOKING FOR SOMETHING TO START WITH THAT WILL ALLOW ME TO TAKE AMAZING PICTURES AND FOCUS ON MY SUBJECT AND BLUR THE BACKGROUND. I WOULD ALSO LIKE SOMETHING THAT IS GREAT FOR INDOOR AND OUTDOOR USE.
LIGHTING... DO I NEED TO GET ANOTHER SOURCE OF FLASH FOR MY CAMERA? I AM TOTALLY NEW TO ALL OF THIS SO IF THERE IS A SITE I SHOULD CHECK OUT OR VIDEOS TO HELP ME, PLEASE SHARE!

Lenses to look at (assuming you're on somewhat of a budget):

Nikon 35mm 1.8G ($200-$250)
Nikon 50mm 1.8G ($200-$250)
Nikon 85mm 1.8G ($500)
Sigma 17-50mm f2.8 ($650)

The Sigma 17-50mm f2.8 might be a great choice for you since it's going to be a zoom and it will be good for "indoor and outdoor use".