Nikon lense help

Many Hats

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a Canon person now working in a Nikon studio. I know Canon L series lenses are the bomb. Can someone please tell me the Nikon equivilent? Or what to look for code wise in Tamron or Sigma? Looking for a good portrait lense and another one for taking great group (reunion-sports teams) shots. I'm very new at this but not always thrilled with the image quality and boss said I could look into better glass. Oh, shooting with a Nikon D2DXs and kit lens. (seems a shame on such a nice camera body)
Thanks!

Since the D2x was only ever sold as 'Body only' (AFAIK), what lens were you using? With respect to your original question, the Nikon equivalent of 'L' is the gold-ring on the barrel such as carried on the 24-70f2.8 or the 17-55f2.8DX.

Caveat emptor. The gold ring just like that L does not mean the lens is sharp. Both companies have several awesome kit lenses that outperform some of their poorly thoughtout pro lenses in terms of sharpness (definitely not in terms of build quality and versatility though). If image quality is the key over features like large apertures or internal focusing then it pays to shop around the cheaper market too.

Umm.... not sold body only on ebay. We were very niave and bought what turned out to be a gray market camera, 3 lenses, case, tripod, yadda yadda yadda. Got hard sell when called to confirm purchace. "Why did you only purchase the manual focus lenses?" HUH? Nother $300 for auto focus. (Yes, we were idiots) Unfortunatly, can't tell you the lense(s) we have now as I'm at home and had no internet at work today (gotta love crappy service) to check this thread. It is a Tamron lense, but obviousally not top of the line. trying to find out the codes for Nikon lenses. IS is image stabilization for canon...what is it for Nikkor...Tamron, etc? Just trying to figure out the codes.
Thanks