Nikon portrait lenses

Zeferina

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Just bought a Nikon D3300 with supplied AF-S DX Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5- 5.6G VR ll lens.
I'm interested (at the present) in portraits, but cannot get this lens to blur backgrounds. I have used Aperture priority at its widest, and ISO 100. Am I doing something wrong?
I think I need to go for a larger aperture lens, but I desperately need independent help in choosing.
My budget would be in the £200 area.
I am a novice at this photography thing!
Thanks in advance.

It won't blue backgrounds like you see a lot of pros doing, but there are ways to improve your results with that lens.

Shoot at 55mm, as close to your subject as you can be. Have the background far away. And shoot wide open at f/5.6.

It won't give you creamy bokeh like a 1.8 or other very fast lens will. But you can still blur the background more than you'd think.

That 50mm lens mentioned above will give you much better results. Many professionals with $5000 camera bodies still use that $200 lens because it's so damn good.

Just bought a Nikon D3300 with supplied AF-S DX Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5- 5.6G VR ll lens.
I'm interested (at the present) in portraits, but cannot get this lens to blur backgrounds. I have used Aperture priority at its widest, and ISO 100. Am I doing something wrong?
I think I need to go for a larger aperture lens, but I desperately need independent help in choosing.
I hope you don't mind, I took your money and went shopping here:

Nikon AF-P DX NIKKOR 70–300mm f/4.5–6.3G ED lens - Camera Jungle

This might be the best choice for portraiture within your budget.

Screen Shot 2017-09-15 at 6.47.26 PM.png

Use it at or very nearly at the longest focal length.

I tried to find an 85mm 1.8 G, but they don't have one just now. The 85mm 1.4 D is too much money and not as good as the G.

They have two copies of this lens, which would work, even though it's only 50mm.

Screen Shot 2017-09-15 at 6.54.37 PM.png