Nikon Tokina 28-300mm Zoom ?

fereshta

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi,
I am planning to get this lense. I found only 3 user reviews on the net. So, thought someone over here might be able to give me some advice.
For a 28-300mm..the price ($160) looks pretty cheap I guess. Is this a crap lense? help.

Mo:(

I'm not sure I would use that terminology. I've never used this lens. However, I can tell you from experience that a 10X zoom is going to have some issues - and serious ones from my perspective. Whether the issues are important to you is a matter only you can decide. Image quality is a subjective thing. But I think you can expect some pincushion distortion that increases with focal length, softness in the corners of the frame, light fall off at the edges and, of course, slow maximum apertures. How much? I have no idea but my own experience with wide range zooms is pretty negative. That's why I've never used this lens.

The problem is that improving things gets to be expensive and I have no idea how much appetite you have for spending.

I'll tell you what I would do. I recognize that, for some reason, long focal lengths have a magical appeal to beginners. I see beginners with ever longer lenses while I keep using ever shorter ones. Try to get past that. Why not spend more time with whatever lens you have? It is probably better than what you are considering. Explore its possibilities and capabilities. Become a master of what it can do. Get up close and get to know your subjects, animate or otherwise, more personally. Shoot a lot. Then, if there is something that your lens won't do, you can get something else, knowing what you want and why you want it.

Just curious... are you shooting film or digital, and what lenses do you have already?

Thanks a lot fmw. That was really cool reply!
The thing is my 28-200mm Nikon lense got stolen .:-( . I was cool with that.