Nikon's autofocus mode?

0ptics

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello

I'm using a Nikon D3100 (11 autofocus points) and had a few questions about which mode, AF-area mode, and metering I should use and when.

1) Majority of the time I use AF-S because I'm not a huge fan of AF-C, I feel that its easier using AF-S even for fast targets. When and what do you guys think of AF-C?

2) Which AF-area mode should I use? I've been shooting for about 6 months now and only been using Dynamic-area AF. When should I use Auto-area AF? With it be better for landscape and group shots?

3) What is metering? Its always been set as Matrix, should I ever use center-weighted or spot and what are they?

4) What is the point of having more than 11 autofocus points? For the high end cameras they all have a lot more, is that better?

So overall 99% of the time I'm set on AF-S and Matrix metering and using Dynamic-area mode, when or should I ever use the other ones?

Thanks!
Charles

Well, I do things differently. I won't say it's better but it's what I prefer.

1. 90% of the time I use AF-C because I want my focus to adjust with movement of the subject.

2. I never, ever, NEVER, not for any reason whatsoever EVER use dynamic area autofocus. Period. End of story. I'll tell the camera what I want the subject to be, and I'll put it right in the center of the viewfinder where I have the focus point LOCKED. I used that dynamic auto 3D super intelligent focus a couple of times and it never agreed with me on what should be the subject so I disabled it.