Votes: 2 11.1%

• Total voters

MetroRuss

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all,

Im brand new to the hockey family culture. I offered to take the photos of a minor hockey association for their marketing and web presence in my city. Since it is a youth program, it is expected that parents volunteer. The director of marketing accepted my offer and gave me a wish list of about a dozen different action shot, locker room shots, and other various happy faced kids.

I am taking a lot of shots and vids of the team my child is on, not just of him but of the whole team, coaches included. Trying to capture a theme of team feeling of hard work and practicing hard will lead to more success.

Ive got about 56 GB (1800 photos) of jpg/raw after 5 weeks of practices and 6 games. It is a lot of OOF and bad composition shots to weed through.

So I went through a file that had 750 shots in it of 2 games and found many keepers of almost everyone on the team. The lighting was nice at this arena. Then they were PP resized to 1250 X 833 and watermarked.

2 days ago I posted 36 photos up in the team app that we use where everyone gets notified when the team chat is used.

So far I have not gotten a single online reply about them. However this morning at a hockey practice 1 father said he liked them.

So it comes down to this, yes, I would like to be appreciated for taking the time to shoot, sort, PP and post photos of their kids. I dont want their money. I just wanted to be a nice guy and make some people around me happy.

Does anyone have any experience with this reaction that I find strange?

Example photos below. BTW I am not a sports photographer.

blocker-save-2.jpg

goalie-upset.jpg

fake-shoot.jpg

Ime, this is a common phenomenon. I did very extensive pro bono photography for a local non-profit in MD and was rarely thanked.