No metering

MiningGold

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am going to buy either a 53200 or a d5100 and will get a 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G AF-S DX VR Nikkor lens with either. I posted a question about compatibility with old lenses I've acquired and it was brought to my attention that I will not be able to use autofocus or metering with the AI-S lenses I have. I'm new to photography, but am thinking having to manually focus wont be that big of a deal for shooting landscapes and wildlife. Just wondering if the lack of metering will make it so I wont use the lenses? Is manual metering possible/hard to do?

Not at all - you have two options. You can buy a hand-held light meter (That's just an example; there are many types, and many for much less money), or you can use the Sunny 16 rule to estimate exposure and fine tune it using your rear LCD and histogram.

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
There will be NO metering functions available. Flash will also have to be controlled manually when using Ai or Ai-S lenses with the D5xxx series Nikon bodies.

It's not all "that" difficult to set the right f/stop and shutter speed, once one has a bit of practice, and some idea of what exposures are supposed to be.

Would having his lenses chipped allow for metering with that camera? If so that old be another option.

Yes, having a set of contacts and ribbon cable added can be done on many lenses. There are a number of different camera repair services that do "chipping" of manual focusing lenses. I own exactly one aftermarket "chipped" manual focusing Nikon lens, a 400mm f/3.5 ED-IF, Ai-S series model made in 1982, and it works pretty well on all Nikons it has been shot on...chipping is one option, but there are actually a decent number of Nikon bodies that will meter with Ai and AI-S lenses in their unmodified state.