Noise reduction software

Netskimmer

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been looking at the noise reduction software and the same names keep popping up, Neat Image, Noise Ninja, Topaz DeNoise and a few others. They all seem to be about the same price and one doesn't really seem to stand out as being better. My main questions are:

1. Is it worth the 'pro' level price to get support for 16bit + files as well as other bells and whistles?
2. I assume that getting the plug-in version (assuming you have the host software) would be better for workflow. Is this correct?
3. A few people have mentioned that while none of them are clearly better than the others, some may be better for specific types of noise reduction than the others. Is there a way for me to find out which program excels in which areas?

I realize some of these questions are kind of broad but I'm still quite new to photo editing. At this point most of what I do is just cropping, adjusting WB, contrast, brightness, ect and the occasional cloning.

Do you post process in 16 bits, or do you intend to do so in the future? If you do, you'll probably want your noise software to work with you on that.

Do you use LightRoom? If you do, it already has a VERY good noise reduction section built into it.

In addition to LightRoom's de-noise processing, which I much prefer to use these days on the front end of my PP workflow, I've used all three that you mentioned: Neat Image, Noise Ninja, Topaz DeNoise. I currently have Noise Ninja and Topaz DeNoise. I sometimes feel a need to use one while working in Photoshop, usually because I forgot to deal with it using LR before I got started. When that happens, I typically reach for Noise Ninja, and come away satisfied with the results.