Noise reduction

gerardo2068

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
500px.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm a beginner at photography. I have Lightroom and photoshop. My questions are, At what stage would you recommend applying the noise reduction? Should I apply at the RAW file in Lightroom or Camera RAW when I'm doing my initial Post Processing or should I do my initial post proceeding in Lightroom or Camera RAW, then move it to photoshop and apply the noise reduction using the photoshop filter? Should I wait till the end right before sharpening? Thank you for your help!!

Noise reduction and sharpening go hand-in-hand...but noise reduction should be done before sharpening. And don't just think that sharpening is the last step, a good sharpening routine will likely include some 'input sharpening', maybe some image specific sharpening and then output sharpening that is tailored to your final form (print (print size) or screen etc.)

As with most things in your digital workflow, it's best to do as much as possible before the RAW is processed. So that would be in LR or ACR. It doesn't really matter which order you do things in LR or ACR, when you export/process the image, the software will apply the edits in the best order.

So certainly do your noise reduction in LR or ACR...but if you have your image in PS instead, do the noise reduction first, because you don't want to sharpen noise.

Thank you for the helpful information. I appreciate it a lot.

I agree to an extent with Mike especially that sharpening and NR go hand in hand ( and we all have our own ways within the workflow)

In my many years of processing, I have found that noise reduction can be accomplished in many ways, but for me, the most accurate comes later in the workflo.