Non-photogenic models?

TheStupidForeigner

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a complete newbie at portrait/human photography but it's something I'm trying to get into. My first model is of course my own wife who in real life is an absolute stunner, but in photos she looks horrible! I think I've never seen such an non-photogenic person!

It actually really fascinates me what makes humans photogenic or not. I know for her the biggest problem is smiling naturally, but even in candid photos she still doesn't look as good as I think she should.

Does anyone have any suggestions for me and/or her and any people I may photograph in the future?

Shallow Hal needs a gal! haha

I say just ensure the person is comfortable, relaxed, wearing something which suits the surroundings, and obviously wants to be there.

That's about it from me.

It's very difficult to say without actually seeing what you're talking about. IMO, there is no such thing as a non-photogenic person, just someone who dealt with an unskiled photographer. My guess is that with more experience, particularily in lighting and posing, you would get the result you want.

I'm a complete newbie at portrait/human photography but it's something I'm trying to get into. My first model is of course my own wife who in real life is an absolute stunner, but in photos she looks horrible! I think I've never seen such an non-photogenic person!

It actually really fascinates me what makes humans photogenic or not. I know for her the biggest problem is smiling naturally, but even in candid photos she still doesn't look as good as I think she should.

Does anyone have any suggestions for me and/or her and any people I may photograph in the future?

It's tough to get a natural looking portrait. They need confidence in front of the camera, and you as the photographer need to make them feel comfortable and relaxed. It's tough. Real tough. I have yet to even be average at it.