Noob here, some lightning questions

Projectj128

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
OK so a few years back I took a picture of lightning with my Sony Digital camera, I used a 30 sec exposure F2.8 blah blah blah, anyway. Since then I have been fascinated with Lightning, I have taken a few pics of lightning and am satisfied with how they came out. I know that alot of people would say go with a digital camera for lightning but well, there is that thing called " I cant afford a decent one"!!! I even had a "pro" tell me that using film is barking up the wrong tree I beg to differ, he recommended me using a Canon 5D mark II, huh well I cant afford a $2,000 body and not to mention decent lenses for it (I'm more of a Nikon guy anyway) So.............

Here's what I plan on using
Minolta X-370 with either a 50mm or 24mm lens (I own all 3)
or a Nikon N80 with a 50mm lens.

Most pictures will be shot using a Max ISO 400 or much slower film such as 50 or 100 at aperatures of either F8 or F11, any suggestions on what type of film I should use? and what is the max amount of time I should hold the shutter open for?

Any suggestions comments or criticisms are greatly appreciated

I think the phrase 'It depends, ...' fits this case.

The location you select will have a bearing on the length of time you can leave the shutter open. If there's lots of light about [city location] you may quickly reach a point where the light overexposes the film. If there's little light [rural location] you can leave the shutter open longer.

I suspect that almost any film will work, depending on lens speed and the stop selected.

Trial exposures can be made any evening [no lightning needed] to get an idea of how the local lights will register on the film. Once you have this information, you're set to go.