Noob on the move....

amandalee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I was asked by a friend who is taking pictures of her friends wedding if I wanted to come along and be a second shooter... of course I said sure since after all its practice! That said I just wanted to get some tips from you guys so I don't get in the way or screw up anything... and basically tips for doing well at a wedding... I believe it is indoors and everything else should be outside. Should I bring a tripod along for the photos that arent in the church and what about lighting? I'm pretty sure my friend has no flash other than a pop-up which is WAY to drastic! Any tips are greatly appreciated! And again I AM NOT BEING PAID and I WAS JUST ASKED TO COME ALONG :lol: wanted to make that clear before I got jumped on for making people pay for pictures from a complete noob lol

I am glad you are taking this as a learning opportunity. I have had the chance to do many things as a "2nd". Quite honestly, it takes the pressure off you and allows you to explore many creative opportunities.

You are right in staying out of your friends way. You know what the traditional wedding photos are. You can concentrate on other things like audience reactions and whoever the focus is not on. It also gives you the opportunity to try new things when failing is not fatal. You can afford to "try" an available light shot that creates an ambiance that the friend simply can't get with a flash.

Make sure with your friend ahead of time what they expect of you, if anything. Make sure your gear is ready to go and have fun.

Should I bring a tripod along for the photos that arent in the church and what about lighting?

I do bring my tripod. It makes the detail shots and the venue shots much easier. Not so easy to do a 5 second exposure hand held. As far as lighting, yes, for the reception you will need a speedlight, and most people would say you need a studio flash for the formals.