Noobie Lens help!

Malemmy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Well, I thought I made my mind up on the Nikon D7000, but since I am a VERY beginner with this, meaning I know close to nothing about DSLR's :blushing: I think I have 95% decided on the D5100...seems to have all I need for way less. My q is...I am going to buy just the body and a different lens. I am going to be doing primarily children, family pics, and pets. What would be a good all around lens to purchase with this camera? Any thing else I should buy and know? I am currently learning about DSLR photography and I just want to make sure this would be a good starter camera that I could grow into also. All help is greatly appreciated! Thanks :mrgreen:

I would start with which ever kit lens is sold with the body you decide on. The main reason is that when bundled like this, you usually save a fair amount, and the lenses are generally good, all-around lenses. Once you've had a while to learn and play, then you can make a more informed decision as to what might be a better lens choice.

The lens that comes with this kit is 18-55mm VR lens...but doing some research I find that people recommend the 50mm 1.8
Should I get both? Or just stick with the kit for now?

Stick with the kit for now and enjoy taking photos and learn you're camera before you start getting into more advanced stuff.

prodigy2k7 said:
Stick with the kit for now and enjoy taking photos and learn you're camera before you start getting into more advanced stuff.

^ I agree!
you'll learn a lot with the kit lens if you're just starting out. :)
you might feel a little restricted with a prime lens only, no matter what length it is.
as for the 50 mm, I love mine and use it often but it can be tough on a crop body (especially with pets who are trying to get all close to you while you're snapping away).
so I suggest kit lens first!