Novice Photographer Seeking Criticism

TCPhotograpy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello All,

I am new to photography, started about a week or so ago, and am looking for some critiques on my photos. I'm been overwhelmed with school work so this is what I have so far. All criticism welcomed.

Some more of my work can be seen at tcphoto-graph.tumblr.com

Thanks for looking.

Attachments

• Agnes College.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 134
  • DSC_0069.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 148
  • DSC_0080.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 119
  • DSC_0096.jpg
    3.5 MB · Views: 132
Hi! Welcome to the forum, but also welcome to the wonderful world of photography! Isn't it awesome? :)

Your first shots aren't all too bad! Some things to think about in terms of composing your shot:
Where do your eyes go when you first look at the image? Is there anything unnecessary in frame? Do I have a subject, and is that subject in focus? etc. I like your fourth shot (the one with the lamp and the path leading to the building) because my eye immediately went to the lamp, then the path, then the building. Certain features in a photo that encourage the eye to look around are always good, in my opinion. The trees that are obscuring the building make me want to see more of it, though!

Also, maybe try and shoot from different angles and experiment with different settings. I'm not sure what you're shooting on, but it's always fun to just mess around and see what you come up with. I highly recommend using your camera's meter if it has one. Generally, assuming you're shooting outside, aim for shooting with an open aperture (f/stop) and a shorter shutter speed on cloudy, darker days. On days with lots of sun and light, close your aperture and increase your shutter speed.

I also recommend looking at photography articles online. There's lots of them and they cover countless topics, and they're very helpful!

Again, welcome to TPF!

Welcome to TPF.