off-camera flash with Nikon D3100 or Canon T1i?

Hannah2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Sorry for all the newbie questions. I'm trying to look up as much as I can, but I'm finding differing info on this question. I have zero experience with external flash, but as I choose a camera, I'd like to leave room for growth without breaking the bank. I *think* this is my last camera setup question!

It appears that on the Nikon D3100, you can set up an on-camera SB-700/800 with an off-camera SB-600. Has anyone tried this?

With the Canon T1i, all I found was this jerry-rig:
Using a 430EX Flash Off Camera With a Canon Rebel T1i
Looks complicated.

I'd love to step up to the next level camera, but my current photography skills won't justify the extra money.

If anyone can suggest web sites or books for extra reading on simple OCF (or portrait lighting in general), I'd be grateful. Thanks again for the help!

I think we are both bored today and spending time on the forum, as I'm looking around something to read and always find posts from you :) .
The master place for off camera is Strobist . There you can find also a review of SB-700: Strobist: Nikon SB-700 Speedlight Misses it By <i>This Much</i> . Also suggestions for reusing old flashes are available (but OTC means always some extra manual work or some extra monery for being more automatic).
I guess its capability is related to the flash more than to the camera. You are comparing two flashes setup with just one. The link you put on the Canon simply tries to describe a setup with one flash, and the main reason for being complicated is true also for SB700: lack of PC-sync port. Using just SB700 will give you the same problem, if going the same way.

I'm doing off camera with a cheap Yongnuo flash plus cheap wireless trigger.

lack of PC-sync port